Arizona is unique in that it has steeper penalties not only for multiple DUI offenses, but also in the severity of the DUI, such as Extreme DUI and Super Extreme DUI charges. If you or someone you know has recently been charged with an Extreme DUI you might be wondering what it means and how it will affect you. Extreme DUI cases carry heavier penalties and have specific requirements that regular DUI charges do not incur. Knowing the differences will help you understand the situation that you’re in and what your next steps should be.
If you submitted to a breathalyzer test and your result was over .15 BAC chances are your vehicle was impounded on the scene. The 30 day mandatory impound of your vehicle is required for anyone suspected of an Extreme DUI from initial breathalyzer testing. For most people this is the beginning of their realization that the DUI they are being charged with carries stiffer penalties than those of a typical DUI offender. At this point you might be looking for a lawyer to help you get your vehicle back and start the process of re-instating your driving privileges. Both the Arizona MVD and Arizona law enforcement agencies treat Extreme DUI and Super Extreme DUI cases different than a regular DUI which means you will likely face more challenges.
The first thing to remember when charged with an Extreme DUI is that you should not give up hope. Hiring an experienced Phoenix DUI Lawyer that understands the intricacies of DUI laws in Arizona will help you move forward with resolving the process. Your lawyer should be able to not only how to help you in court but also assist you with the MVD process to help you get your vehicle back and your driving privileges re-instated. Many lawyers will even attend your MVD hearing for you on your behalf so that you can focus on what you need to take care of.
Mandatory minimum jail sentences and fines will be higher if you’re charged with an Extreme DUI but this will not be determined until your court hearing. Hiring a lawyer or requesting a public defender to defend you at your DUI hearing is the only possible way to reduce your charges.
In Arizona the mandatory minimum jail sentence if you are charged with an Extreme DUI is 30 days. It’s important to note that this does not mean you will be spending all 30 days in Tent City. You may have other options that will reduce time served such as House Arrest and / or installing an alcohol monitor on your vehicle for one year. These options should be discussed with a knowledgeable DUI attorney and at the time of sentencing with your judge.
Finally, it is important to note that not everyone charged with an Extreme DUI or Super Extreme DUI is convicted. Your lawyer may be able to plea your charge down before your hearing or when your case is heard in court. That’s why it’s critical that you find a DUI lawyer as soon as possible.